Collective effort

Scott County wrestling rolled in its home matches Saturday. The Cardinals defeated five different rivals in dual meets. Eli Camp, Gus Roberts, Lucas Saunier and Cayden Graham each went 5-0. Truman Galusha, Caleb Wittry and Luke Colvin all were 4-0.

Scott County High School kicked off its wrestling season in impressive fashion Saturday with a clean sweep of its annual Scott County Duals.

SC’s toughest matches on its home mats were a 45-36 verdict over Daviess County and a 48-36 victory over McCreary Central.

The Cardinals also dominated  Nelson County, 59-18; North Bullitt, 60-18; and Prestonburg, 72-6.

Eli Camp, Gus Roberts, Lucas Saunier and Cayden Graham all went 5-0 on the day for Scott County. Truman Galusha, Luke Colvin aqnd Caleb Wittry were 4-0.

SC set the tone in the smaller weight classes against Daviess County, with Camp (113), Roberts (126), Galusha (132) and Graham (138) all winning  by fall in under a minute.

In a hard-fought match at 182 pounds, Caleb Mahoney of SC toughed out a 16-15 decision over Skyler Walker.

Saunier (120), Wittry (152) and Colvin (195) also picked up forfeit wins to account for the final margin.

Camp, Galusha, Roberts, Gragam and Mahoney each pinned their McCreary rivals.

Saunier joined Taylor Luttrull and Landon Theurer with forfeit wins to pad the Cards’ lead.

Scott County won four of the seven matches contested against Nelson County.

Graham cruised to a 16-0 win by technical fall. Wittry, Theurer and Roberts contributed pinfall victories, while Camp, Saunier, Galusha, Colvin, Landon Scheffel and James Arnold had their hands raised without a fight.

Pins were plentiful against North Bullitt. including six consecutive weight classes in one stretch. Luttrull, Wittry, Jack Hauke, Theurer, James Mertz and Colvin completed that victory tour between the 145 and 195-pound classifications.

Saunier and Roberts also won by fall against North Bullitt, while Camp and Graham logged forfeit triumphs.

Prestonsburg had enough wrestlers for five matches, and Scott County won four. Camp, Graham, Wittry and Hauke did the honors, all via pin.

Kal Oakes can be reached via email at

Recommended for you